Shane Claiborne

I just saw pictures of him and thought he would be a guy I’d like to talk to. I wouldn’t mind having his look. But I don’t think it’s wise for me to wear dread locks, as cool as I may think I’d look in them. I still don’t know anything about him. But today, in the office, I started reading the Circuit West. And there was an article titled “Energized for Justice.” They had a little tidbit on Mr. Claiborne and I was just touched. Here’s an excerpt from the article by Bill Fentum: (I’m not doing anything wrong for posting part of an article on my blog, am I?)

When Philadelphia officials passed laws making it illegal for homeless people to sleep or eat in public places, The Simple Way (organization Claiborne co-founded) hosted a worship service in Love Park. They prayed with the homeless, sang, then “broke bread” by ordering Pizzas for them. Mr. Clairborne and others went to trial, but they were acquitted and the laws were over turned. “I walked into court wearing a shirt saying, ‘Jesus was homeless,'” Mr Clairborne told attendees. “The judge asked me what I meant by that, and I told him that Jesus said ‘foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.'”

I read that and smiled. And felt embarrassed too. I feel like, with me, I’m a lot more talk than walk. This article and Shane just gave me more of a reason to be more walk than talk, to be a living example to the people I serve.

Clairborne was a speaker at one of the National Youth Workers Convention (unfortunately, not the one in San Diego). I downloaded his sermon from their website and am looking forward to hearing it soon.

One Comment on “Shane Claiborne

Leave a Reply

