So I’m trying to prepare the third message of our Winter Retreat ’07 “Break Free.” The third night deals with friendship and breaking free from friends that may keep us from the call of God and the idea of cliques.

One of the illustrations that keep coming into mind is the friendship of David and Jonathan. They were the best of friends, and God had a purpose for David, and his relationship with Jonathan would not be productive in that relationship. So David parted ways with Jonathan. I love this story because it’s heart breaking and it shows the love David had for God surpasses love he had for anything else. I admire that.

But, I don’t think I appreciate all the websites where they try to make more out of Jonathan and David’s relationship. I just think they’re really close and I personally feel that trying to say that their was more than friends… well I think it’s stretching it.

What would you say?

One Comment on “David and Jonathan

Leave a Reply

