Opposition

You know, when I told my family about my plans to fast, for the most part, they were supportive and understood.
My wife was a bit hesitant, but I think she realized that I really believe this was a calling from God and that there’s nothing she can do to change my mind.
Others?
My mother-in-law nearly flipped out and pleaded that I do something else or shorten the amount. The senior pastor’s wife said that my body belongs to the church (not the Church, but my local church that I serve) and this is not in the best interest of the church.

To both, I politely nod and smile. To tell you the truth, I’m more worried about spending the night by myself in a church in the middle of the woods, near the beach. (Ah, where else can you be in the middle of the woods, but yet still be near the ocean? Oh, well technically, I wouldn’t be in the middle of the woods… but I digress)

Well, it’s not like I made a rash decision. This has been in my heart since last September. And of course, no one’s really going to understand. I’m sure that people out there might start thinking I’m doing this to make myself look good. I can’t control what others think. But I know I am placed on the earth to please God and not people. The most common thing I’ve heard others is that “you’re not your dad.” I am fully aware of that. But I’m not doing this because I want to be like my dad. I’m not doing this to seek his approval or anyone else’s. I’m doing this because I really believe that God is calling me to do this. I’ve wrestled with it for months, and I did not receive peace in my heart until I decided to go forward with it.

But those whose opinions really matter and count to me, they know where I’m coming from and why I am doing this.
I don’t plan on telling the adults at our church, only a need-to-know basis. I wasn’t going to tell the youth kids at my church (none of them read my blog or probably know I have one), but I decided they needed to know, because my presence was going to be scarce, and I’m afraid that one kid will try to jump on me and I’ll just collapse and break something.

In a month, I will be entering this physical and spiritual challenge. But really, I’m not scared or nervous. What keeps playing in my head is “my grace is sufficient for you.” And that really gives me peace in my heart. I’m more scared, as I mentioned, of being alone in the dark.

I will close with a question. Do you think fasting is a lost spiritual discipline?

Leave a Reply

