Narrow Vision

I spoke to a parent, the other day, who had concerns for her kids.
I sat and listened to her intently.
It was concerns that all parents have for their kids.

It’s funny how, as kids, we can’t see where our parents are coming from. It took me years to finally see (and admit) that my dad has helpful insights for me and my ministry. And my life, for that matter.
I guess parents do know what’s best for their children (many of the times). But as children, it’s hard to see and accept that, because we think we know better, because it’s our lives. Not theirs.

After our meeting, I was reminded of two things:

The first is my dad’s dog, Nari. I say my dad’s, because that dog absolutely adores my dad. His congregation has jokingly deemed Nari my dad’s “second wife.”
Once in a while, when they’re out of town and my brother’s unavailable, I’ll go walk Nari.
While walking, she’d want to cross the street to the greener grass. And she’ll try to run towards the grass, while I have to fight (she’s considerably strong for a dog that size) and pull her leash so that she can’t cross. She’ll start barking as if saying, “Let me go pee on that grass!” And she’ll continue to fight me.
But I see things that she doesn’t, because she’s so focused on that grass. I see that there is a car coming and a chance that she’ll get run over.
Or there’s a bigger dog across the street that can hurt her.

The second thing that came to my mind was Israel’s desire for a king.
They desperately wanted a king to rule over them. Despite God’s warning of how a king will treat them, Israelites wanted a king. And God consented. And more problems came about from that decision.

What I’m trying to say, in all of my babbling, is that God knows what’s best for us, and often times, we try to fight it, because our view is too narrow. We think that we know what’s best for us. And a lot of times, our wants and desires go against God’s.

I can’t remember, for the life of me, who said this, but he said that in following Christ, we must learn to distrust what we think we want and need and instead, learn to completely trust in God.
As Shane and Shane sing, “My happiness is found in less of me and more of you.”

One Comment on “Narrow Vision

Leave a Reply

