I’ve noticed a rather disturbing trend amongst people. Well, I guess it’s not disturbing, but more saddening.
I learn to tolerate the people who leave the bluetooth ear piece on all day. I tolerate because I’m afraid that I may become THAT GUY. Especially since California is enforcing the hands free driving law. That means no cell phones (unless using hands free set) whilst driving.

Anyway, when I see kids in the car, whether they’re sitting in the back, or sitting shotgun, a lot of them have their iPod earphones in the ear and kind of stare out the window with a blank stare. That I can understand. Car rides are boring. Mom never wants to listen to the music I want to listen to on the radio. That’s okay.

But more and more, I see kids with their iPods on at a restaurant while eating dinner. Not only kids, I went to Todais and there was this guy around my age, listening to his father talk to them during lunch, and the dude still had his iPod earphone in one of his ear.

Has it become that hard to interact with people?
I saw a couple walking together at the mall. They both had their own iPods in one of their ears. What’s the point of going shopping together?

Do we need music playing in our ear constantly?

Are we as people becoming less and less interactive with one another as technology continues to advance?
I don’t know if you’ve seen Wall-E, but I think it is very possible that humans can become like the way they’ve been portrayed. And that’s sad.
(Totally off the subject, but are there no more minorities 700 years into the future? Why were everyone is space and in the future white? Tsk, tsk Disney and Pixar)

3 Comment on “Put Away the iPod

Leave a Reply

