Every moment alone, or a moment to reflect, my mind keeps going back to Nari, our dog. I get to preach for the first time this Sunday. It’s a good thing that most of my preparation is done, and just have to a little tweaking here and there. All day yesterday, I was preoccupied with the thoughts of my family and Nari.
My mom told me that they spent all morning crying and mourning. My dad usually takes her for a walk after he comes back from early morning prayer service.

But I think they’ll be okay. If anything, the sadness really pales in comparison for the thankfulness we have towards her. She really brighten up our days. And, I’m sure it made it easier on my mom when they brought the dog in to replace me. Made the house feel a little less empty.

I’ve been thinking about getting them another dog, since my brother has to go back to Hawaii for college, and they really have an empty nest. But I don’t think they’d want another one. So my wife and I are going to try to visit at least once a month. It works for us, because we get free food. =)

Also, I’d rather be driving up to Oxnard in a case of an emergency for Nari, than for my parents. It would’ve been a worse drive there and back, if the emergency involved my mom or dad.

I don’t think it’s really going to hit me that we don’t have a dog anymore until I visit my parents and she doesn’t come up to greet me.

As my dad was leaning over her to say his goodbye, all he could muster up was, thank you and I love you.
I thought that was sweet. And sad. But it sums up how I feel too.

I’m looking forward to this Sunday. I’m preaching something that’s been in my heart for a while. Not only for the people at Mesa Verde to hear, but to remind myself as well.

4 Comment on “A Couple Of Days After

Leave a Reply

