There was a point in time, I think it was high school for me, where everyone went around wearing the WWJD bracelets. And it annoyed the heck out of me. I don’t know why, but it did. Maybe because majority of the people wearing the bracelets never stopped and asked “What would Jesus do?” It felt more like a fashion statement that a life statement. And at the time, I didn’t want to associate myself with Christians or wear any Christian apparel, because, it just wasn’t cool.

But today, I got a call while at the church office. And after the call, I just felt so down that I couldn’t stay in the office anymore. So I left early. (I also had some errands to run.)

A lady called who was being evicted from her house in three days and she had no place to live.
She called every single shelter in the Orange County area, but all were full and since she was alone, with no children, she wasn’t a high priority. She started calling churches because she was desperate and had no where to turn. And she asked, “Can you help me, pastor?”

I had no idea what I could do. I told her some of the shelters that we were involved in, and she said she called all of them and was on their waiting list.

I just didn’t know what to say. I gave her some numbers to other churches that may be more of an assistance to her. I apologized for my lack of help and hung up.

And I haven’t felt right since.
I couldn’t offer her to stay at the church, because I don’t think I have the authority to do that.
I didn’t think I could offer her to stay at our house.
What if she was a drug addict?
My wife stays home in the day by herself. I didn’t feel safe with her staying alone with the woman.
What if the woman didn’t want to get her life together and then we were forced to have her leave our house?

Or are these all just excuses?

Would offering our house really be the right thing to do in her moment of need
For the first time in my life, I am asking myself, what would Jesus really have done?
Should I have offered to meet up with her and help her?

You know the story of the good Samaritan?
Where the Levite and the priest just walk pass by the wounded man?
I think we’re sort of conditioned to think really bad of the Levite and the priest for not fulfilling their obvious duty of stopping by and offering assistance. It’s easy to say that they were in the wrong and frown upon them.

Well, today, I feel like the Levite and the priest.
I feel like I could’ve done more, but just walked to the other side of the street and kept on.

5 Comment on “What Would Jesus Really Have Done?

Leave a Reply

