So, if you don’t know, I’m sorta socially awkward. I’m a huge introvert. I tend to make jokes (often only funny to me) when I feel uncomfortable. I like the comfort of my own space. I like to go to Borders or Barnes and Nobles and spend hours reading graphic novels about Superman, Spider-Man, Batman and so forth. Why do I tell you this? I have no idea, I thought I was going somewhere with this, but apparently not.

Anyway, there are those few Sundays where I really feel good about what I just preached.
But what follows, I just don’t know how to handle, and I’m pretty sure I come off as… well, awkward.

It’s when people come up to me and tell me how great of a sermon I preached, or how good I was or however they compliment me. I just don’t know what to say.
I don’t like saying thank you, because it doesn’t feel natural. The only reason why one of my sermons is good is because of God. If it was on my own strength and talents, well… I wouldn’t be asked to preach much. So, when I say thank you, I feel like I’m taking credit for something I had a little part in.
If I just smile and shake their hand, I feel that I may come off as conceited, arrogant, almost like, of course I did a good job.
So what do I do? Laugh nervously and say “no” a lot and thank them. For example:
“Thank you so much for your sermon. That was really great! I really enjoyed it!”
*nervous laughter* “no no no no no” *more nervous laughter* “no no, really thank you!” *end with nervous laughter*

That exchange leaves me feeling awkward. It’s really an awkward time for me, the meet and greet time after the service. I don’t know what is wrong with me in that I just say thank you and move on.

I think God designed that little awkwardness and uncomfortableness inside of me so that I don’t get too big headed and conceited, which can easily happen to me. It’s amazing how many times I can make things about me. So perhaps, this is a good thing to keep me in check. I just wish I weren’t so awkward.

5 Comment on “After a Good Sermon…

Leave a Reply

