I do think that many people make too big of a deal of church attire.
I also want to point out, I’m a fan of looking good and well-dressed for church.
I do like wearing suits once in a while.

But, what bothers me is that many people, I feel, try to say that God doesn’t approve of certain looks.
I honestly believe, God could care less, as long as our worship is God-centered and God-focused and our hearts are the same. As long as the worshiper is there to worship God and none other, everything else is secondary. Of course, I don’t know that for sure.

However, I think this is more of a ‘me’ issue than a ‘God’ issue.
Like the worship wars, it’s not really about what God prefers, but what we prefer.
And what we wear, it’s more about what we feel is right.

I think that the dress code is a modern variation of the circumcision issue in Paul’s day.
Whether you were circumcised or not, it didn’t matter, as long as there was a circumcision of the heart.

I, though, still haven’t explored the wearing of jeans to lead worship on Sundays yet.
Maybe one of these days, I’ll give it a whirl.

5 Comment on “Dress Code For Church Part Deux

Leave a Reply

