Friends

Image via Wikipedia

Many Christians are familiar with the song “What a Friend We Have in Jesus.”
Most Christians know that Jesus is our friend, and that we can call him “my friend.” Or as Hillsong once sang, “Jesus, you are my best friend. You will always be and nothing will ever change that.”

In James 2:23, James tells us that Abraham was God’s friend. Not only was God Abraham’s friend, but Abraham was a friend of God’s.

So. For all of us who call God our friend, what kind of friend are you to God?

And, as embarrassing as it is, I have to admit that I’m not a very good friend to God.
Time with God gets shuffled and often times lost in the things I have to do.
But God can guarantee I’ll spend time with God when I am in a moment of crisis.

We’ve all had “friends” that weren’t really our friends.
We’ve all had friends who would ONLY call when they needed something from us.
I’m starting to wonder if I’m becoming THAT GUY with my relationship with God.

At least, I am aware of my short comings. I resolve to be a better friend to God.

We’re proud to call Jesus our friend.
Would Jesus be proud to call you his friend?

Leave a Reply

