So, blogosphere. I have a confession to make.

I really, really like Taco Bell.

I don't know why I find that embarrassing to admit. I'd never go out of my way of saying, “Yea, I like Taco Bell.” Only when someone mentions their affinity for Taco Bell, will I say, “Dude, me too!”

I don't feel like this for any other fast food. McDonalds. Burger King. Carl's. Jack's. In N' Out. Five Guys (if you get a chance, youtube the 5 Guys review that was made into a song. I think it's called something like Dayum Song), I have no problem telling people I like those places.

Maybe it's because Taco Bell was caught up in that controversy with their meat not being 100% beef.

Maybe it's because Taco Bell isn't real Mexican food. But I have no qualms in displaying my affection for Panda Express, because c'mon, that ain't real Chinese food.

Maybe it's because, since high school days, Taco Bell has been associated with… you know… lolos and their pakalolo.

Maybe it's because there's something that's just not right about taco shells being made out of Doritos. But, man. Don't knock it 'til you try it. It's so good. So is their Mexican pizza. Which, I don't know, don't seem very Mexican. Nor pizza-like. But, my stomach and taste buds don't care.

So, there you have it, blogosphere and the universe: I like Taco Bell.

I was going to try to relate this to a faith matter, like how in my teenager years, I treated Jesus like Taco Bell. Meaning, I never admitted to anyone that I was a Christian or went to church, even though people knew my dad was a pastor. I always found some comfort in kids who didn't know what my dad did. I remember once, in 8th grade, I had no clean shirts to wear, so I had to wear a shirt that was from a Christian camp. And on the back was the thing where someone asks, “Jesus, how much do you love me?” and Jesus responded, “This much” and spread his arms, and died on the cross. I remembered how embarrassed and uncomfortable I felt all day. I never took off my backpack outside of class so that kids wouldn't see the back of my shirt. (Whoa. Maybe this is why I don't like Christianese stuff, like corny shirts like that and bumper stickers, etc).

But. Confessions are a faith matter in of itself. So I'll just leave it at that.

Although, I can't say that I feel better about confessing my affinity towards Taco Bell.

But, I can say that all this talk about Taco Bell has made me hungry…

One Comment on “Confessions – Taco Bell Edition

Leave a Reply

