If you want to share on why you believe in God, please email me at pastorjosephyoo(@)gmail(.)com (remove all the parentheses). 

I choose to believe in God because the Creator of Heaven and earth spoke to me in an audible voice.
When God declares that you’re His child, how can you not choose to believe in His existence?

It all started the summer of 2008, when my youth pastor “forced” me to attend our summer retreat. I tried so hard not to go to the retreat. Looking back, I really don’t know why I resisted so much when he asked me to go. We argued for forty minutes over the phone about my attendance at the retreat and by the grace of God, I ended up going and came out a brand new creation.

Before I got saved, my walk with the Lord was very shallow, weak, and unrealistic. During my middle and early high school years, I simply attended church to hang out with my friends and play basketball after service. I sort of knew that Jesus died for us but never accepted Him as my Lord and Savior. I did not bother to take my time to comprehend the magnitude of Him laying His life for this broken world. I mean, it does not make any sense that the King of kings would leave His throne to atone all of us for our sins once and for all.

Over the years, I realized that God can be a very straightforward God. One example that I can share is when I had a “conversation” or divine argument with my youth pastor about the summer retreat. In the middle of the climax of our conversation, I gave my youth pastor an excuse saying that I cannot attend the retreat because I might have to visit my grandparents in Korea during the retreat days, and how I needed to “share” the gospel to them since they didn’t know Jesus. As soon as I finished my sentence, my pastor called me out, which I believe was influenced by the Holy Spirit to give me a wakeup call that I needed for long time.

He said to me “Do you really believe that you can share the gospel with your grandparents or to anyone with your current faith? Do you really believe that your current walk with the Lord is strong enough to somehow share the love of Christ to any unbelievers?” Instead of getting offended, I realized that I needed to hear this truth and go to this retreat.

During our second evening session, I was on my knees, face down crying out to God with desperation hoping that He would hear and respond to my cry. I did not care who was around me nor did I care how they viewed me as I was weeping and shouting “God! Where are You?!” over and over for hours. Total of 80 people — students, counselors, and pastors — were in the room and the room was filled with sound of other other people’s prayers, cries, and praise. As I kept on pursuing God relentlessly, He answered me. The room became silent as if I went to another room all by myself.

I thought I was either dreaming or hallucinating. In a split second, I heard a voice that I had never heard before; a voice that was filled with authority and life. The Almighty spoke to me with a gentle yet powerful voice saying “My son My son, I’m here for you. I’m here for you, My son.”

At first, I thought it could’ve been one of the pastors or counselors who said those words to me.
I opened my eyes to see if anyone was next to me, but there was no one.
I couldn’t deny the fact that it was God who spoke those exact words to me.
As I looked around the room, I realized that I felt lighter. The pain and burden that often weighed my heart down was now gone. Completely gone.
I felt like a brand new person.

It has been 6 years since that night, and I am still amazed at the fact that the Creator of all things spoke to me, His creation, to draw me near to Him. My hunger and thirst for Jesus is increasing daily by the grace of God. It has not been easy since I decided to follow Jesus, and I know that it is going to get harder and harder. Tribulations have and will come but Jesus said “Take heart! I have overcome the world!” (John 16: 33)

I believe and choose to believe in God because God loved us first and He wants to have an intimate relationship with His children. God sent His one and only Son to die so that we may live. The King of Glory left His rightful throne to make us white as snow. My Father wants to spend eternity with me. And I want to spend eternity with Him. There is a Christian band named “Downhere” and one of their songs is titled “How Many Kings”. The chorus can summarize why I choose to believe in God.

How many kings, stepped down from their thrones?
How many lords have abandoned their homes?
How many greats have become the least for me?
How many gods have poured out their hearts
To romance a world that has torn all apart?
How many fathers gave up their sons for me?
Only one did that for me”
“How Many Kings” by Downhere.

 

HyungKyun is currently lives in Springfield, VA and attends Northern Virginia CC. He is the worship leader at his church. HyungKyun is passionate about God and about basketball. 

Leave a Reply

